Eurindia Logo
ECCP LogoEU Logo
Text Size:| Advanced Search

Home - Menu Bar Description - Menu Bar Partners - Menu Bar Consortium area - Menu Bar Public results - Menu Bar News & Events - Menu Bar Contacts - Menu Bar  
image: partners
UDH | Partners

UDH logoThe University of Delhi is one of the premier universities of India and is known for its high standards in teaching and research and attracts eminent scholars to its faculty. It offers courses at the Undergraduate and Post Graduate levels in most subjects. With a student strength of over 300,000, it is among the largest universities in the world.

The University of Delhi was established in 1922 as a unitary, teaching and residential university by an Act of the then Central Legislative Assembly. It is a Central University fully funded by the University Grants Commission. In addition to various Faculties such as the Faculty of Arts, the Faculty of Social Sciences, the Faculty of Science, the Faculty of Mathematical Sciences, the Faculty of Law, the Faculty of Management Studies etc. (each one of which consists of one or more departments), the University of Delhi also has about eighty colleges.

These colleges are a constituent part of the University and are almost entirely funded by the University Grants Commission. The Faculties of the University are responsible for post-graduate studies including the Masters Programme and research studies leading to the M.Phil and the Ph.D degrees. The colleges of the University are by and large responsible for the undergraduate courses of the University.

Key people at the University of Delhi:

Professor Deepak Nayyar – Vice-Chancellor
Professor C.R. Babu – Pro Vice-Chancellor
Professor Deepak Pental – Director, South Delhi Campus
Professor S.K. Tandon – Dean of International Relations

Key people at the EurIndia Project, University of Delhi:

Professor T.K.V. Subramanian – Principal Investigator
Professor Om Prakash – Co-Principal Investigator
Professor Vibha Maurya
Dr. Jean-Marie Lafont

Contact Persons for the EurIndia Project:

Professor Om Prakash, email:
Dr. Jean-Marie Lafont, email:

Associate Staff

Dr. Dhir Sarangi
Dr. Arvind Sinha

Languages: English | Italian | French | Dutch | HindiPunjabi | | Site Map